The Witch House, also known as the Jonathan Corwin House, can be found at 310 Essex Street in Salem, Massachusetts. Although there are several museums in the city centered around the Salem Witch Trials, the Witch House is the only remaining historic property in Salem directly related to the events that took place in 1692.
In 1675, the house was purchased by 24-year-old Jonathan Corwin. The house would remain owned by the Corwin family until the middle of the 19th century. It was become of Corwin’s roles as a civic leader and magistrate that, some 17 years later, he was asked to investigate the witchcraft claims surfacing in Salem, as well as in other nearby communities. The Court of Oyer and Terminer, which Jonathan Corwin served on, would condemn 19 people to death during the Salem Witch Trials.
Historical restoration in Salem become prevailed in 1944, with the Witch House serving as the catalyst. At the time, the house was in danger of being demolished, but $42,500 was raised by citizens who were concerned about the welfare of the house, which saved and restored it. In 1948, the house was publicly opened as a museum. Visitors can tour the house on their own, or with a guide, to learn more about Jonathan Corwin and the Salem Witch Trials, as well as to see 17th century architecture and furnishings that give insight into what life was like in the mid-to-late 1600s. The Witch House’s façade also lends itself well to photo opportunities, and is a popular location for that purpose.
Please note that all Fabulous Freelancer posts might contain affiliate links.